A Visitor Guide to County Kerry

info@stayinkerry.com :: Tel: 066-7137932
Ballymacelligott, Tralee, Co. Kerry

Kerry Drama Festival 2022 Results

palace players-chapatti

Another great Kerry Drama Festival at The Ivy Leaf Theatre has drawn to a close. Only four drama groups participated this year because of disruption caused by Covid 19.
But what we lacked in quantity was made up in quality. All four plays were in the Open Section and the players gave great performances.
There was a good attendance each night  given the circumstances, with the theatre almost full everynight.
The adjudicator AodhMcCay gave a very jnformative and sympathetic critique of the plays at the end of each night.
He had the difficult task of choosing the winners of the awards from the excellent performances.
Here are the Kerry Drama Festival 2022 Results:

AwardSectionWinnerDrama GroupPlay
Premier AwardOpenChapattiPalace PlayersChapatti
Best DirectorOpenJohn ClancyCorofin Dramatic SocietyBetrayal
Best ActorOpenSeán AhernePalace PlayersChapatti
Best ActressOpenMary ColbertPalace PlayersChapatti
Best Supporting ActorOpenKris CowmingBrideview DramaThe Beauty Queen of Leenane
Best Supporting ActressOpenSharon MaweKilmeen Drama GroupConversations on a Homecoming
Best Visual PresentationOpenCorofin Dramatic SocietyCorofin Dramatic SocietyBetrayal
Best Stage ManagementOpenKilmeen Drama GroupKilmeen Drama GroupConversations on a Homecoming
Adjudicator’s AwardOpenLar McCarthyKilmeen Drama GroupConversations on a Homecoming
Adjudicator’s AwardOpenCorofin Dramatic Society for MusicCorofin Dramatic SocietyBetrayal
Best Young Actor/ActressOpenEoghan HennessyBrideview DramaThe Beauty Queen of Leenane

The committee and volunteers who made Kerry Drama Festival in 2022 possible are due great credit. There is a huge amount of work and organisation behind the scenes to stage this event in the Castleisland. It was especially difficult this year because of the Covid 19 situation and audiences were very appreciative of the efforts made by all.

Well done to all drama groups who participated and congratulations especially to Palace Players  who won the Premier Award and the Best Actor and Best Actress Award.
Superb performances from the two actors Sean Ahern and Mary Colbert!

Here’s hoping that we can get back to a full programmme of eight nights in  the first week of March 2023!

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.